Have multiple instances / profiles / workspaces of Station (for employees, part-timers, entrepreneurs, freelancers, students, etc.)

There are many freelancers and full+part timers using Station, and they would love to have one instance per project/work/client.

It would be hella cool to add the ability to open multiple instances of Station to keep us, the Station groupies, organized and productivity-boosted.

I agree. The same goes for me in my job, though I’m not a freelancer/part-timer (I’m a project/community manager at a university).

For me it would be best to have multiple views within Station on one account. So I can group apps and set them up for the different tasks I’m doing during the day/week. I’m working on multiple projects that have different needs and I also have daily/weekly recurring other stuff to do. At the moment I have to much apps in the dock and too much starred pages for everything. I only want to see the apps and starred pages that have to do with the task/project that I’m working on at that moment.

If I could for example at the top of the dock select a view for “Project A”, “Project B”, “Task X”, et cetera, it would also provide some extra focus at the work I’m doing.

1 Like

Hey,

It will be a really good thing to implement this feature :slight_smile:

1 Like

For example when using Slack, having multiple accounts connected to your current Station > Slack app doesn’t feel good and is directly hurting focus.

But as we are people, we still need multitasking, especially for people working on multiple projects. What seems to me to be most in line with the core philosophy of Station is thus to allow for multiple Stations (properly named with the current project this Station is attached to). I would imagine having each running full screen in a different desktop.

One station, one focus. Each project gets its proper share of focus.

In terms of implementing, this seems to be as simple as to allow for cmd+N.

1 Like